OFFICIAL: Ronaldo set to make history as Portugal announce World Cup Squad

Cristiano Ronaldo will play at his fifth World Cup after being named in Portugal’s 26-man squad for Qatar.

The Manchester United forward, 37, leads a star-studded group of forwards that includes Rafael Leao and Joao Felix, as well as midfielders Bruno Fernandes and Bernardo Silva.

Ronaldo was first selected for a World Cup in 2006, when a Portugal side featuring the likes of Luis Figo, Deco and Ricardo Carvalho progressed to the semi-finals before being eliminated by France.

Ronaldo scored a penalty against Iran in Germany and he has found the net at every tournament since, placing him in a select group as only Pele, Uwe Seeler and Miroslav Klose can join Cristiano in scoring goals at four separate World Cups.

CR7 is still going strong, which means he could make history and become the first male player to register at five editions of the world’s premier sporting event.

Defender Pepe will also appear at another World Cup at the age of 39, with Manchester City’s Ruben Dias and Joao Cancelo and United’s Diogo Dalot also named.

Fulham midfielder Joao Palhinha and Wolves captain Ruben Neves also make the squad but coach Fernando Santos has left out Renato Sanches, who was one of the breakout stars of the country’s Euro 2016 triumph, as well as the experienced Joao Moutinho.

Liverpool forward Diogo Jota is unavailable due to injury while the uncapped Benfica full-back Antonio Silva receives his first call-up.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: