BREAKING: Gareth Southgate Announce England World Cup Squad, Rashford makes the list, Abraham snubbed

The Three Lions manager, Gareth Southgate, has unveiled the Squad that would be representing England at the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar. The England squad includes Rashford, Conor Gallagher and James Maddison.

The English manager snubbed Ivan Toney and Tammy Abraham for the trip to Qatar. Kyle Walker would also be going to the World Cup after recovering from an injury.

The Manchester City defender is vital to Southgate because he can play as a right back in a back four, or at centre back in a back three should the England manager want to switch formations. Walker, 32, has not played since picking up a groin injury in City’s 6-3 victory over Manchester United at the start of last month. His return to fitness is a huge boost to Southgate ahead of England’s opener in Qatar against Iran a week on Monday.

Also called up is Arsenal defender, Ben White who has been in fine form for the Gunners this season. 25-year-old defender has been rewarded for superb progress since joining Arsenal in 2021 as well as his impressive versatility this season.

Eyebrows have been raised as AC Milan defender Fikayo Tomori did not make the cut. The Serie A Champion has been in commanding form since he swapped Chelsea for the Italian side. Another person missing from the list is Tammy Abraham who we hear was snubbed along with Ivan Toney for Callum Wilson.

Full Squad List:

England kick off their campaign on November 21 against Iran, before further group games against USA and Wales.

England vs Iran – November 21

England vs USA – November 25

England vs Wales – November 29


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: