BREAKING: Mo Salah wins his second PFA Player of the Year trophy!

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah has been named the PFA Players’ Player of the Season for the second time after beating Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne to the award.

Chelsea striker Sam Kerr won the women’s award while Manchester City duo Phil Foden and Lauren Hemp retained their Young Player of the Year crowns from last season.

Salah scored 23 Premier League goals last campaign, sharing the golden boot with Tottenham’s Son Heung-Min, as Liverpool finished runners-up to Manchester City.

The Egyptian, who was previously voted Players’ Player of the Season in 2018, also won the Football Writers’ award this season while De Bruyne picked up the Premier League Player of the Season prize.

“It’s a great honour to win a trophy, individual or collective and this one is big so, very happy and very proud of that,” Salah said. “This one is a really good one to win, especially because it’s voted by players.”

Phil Foden is named the Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year 2022

Manchester City’s Phil Foden has been named PFA Young Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

The 22-year-old was last month also named the Premier League’s young player of the season.

Foden proved instrumental to City’s fourth Premier League title win in five seasons, averaging a goal or an assist every 146 minutes as Liverpool were pipped to the title on the final day.

Dele Alli, then at Tottenham, last won the award in back-to-back seasons, following in the footsteps of Wayne Rooney, Robbie Fowler and Ryan Giggs.

Receiving the award for the second time, Foden said: “I’m really honoured to be honest, especially to win it back-to-back, it shows that I’ve come a long way this year with the consistency of my game, and I’m really pleased to win it again.

“All the best players in the world have got to show consistency and keep performing at the higher level, and this year I’ve just tried to do that and try and help my team as much as possible – I’ve been really happy with my performances this year.

“Hopefully I can win the main award in the future, but it’s all about taking small steps and improving. I always love winning individual awards, it’s just nice to look at and see how far you’ve come so, yeah, I’m really pleased.”

Chelsea striker Sam Kerr wins Women’s PFA Player of the Year

Chelsea’s Sam Kerr has picked up the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award for the 2021-22 season.

Kerr, 28, scored 20 league goals in 20 matches as she helped guide Emma Hayes’ team to the Women’s Super League trophy.

Her tally included two goals in the decisive game of the season against Manchester United, the second a long-distance volley which secured Chelsea the title, and also won WSL goal of the season.

She also scored two goals, including an extra time winner, against Manchester City to secure back-to-back FA Cups for her team.

Kerr becomes the first Australian woman to win the PFA award after Harry Kewell picked up the male Young Player of the Year honour in 2000.

Speaking about picking up the trophy, Kerr said: “It’s a massive honour I think, whenever you’re voted by your peers.

“I think that’s the highest honour as a player so, it’s an amazing feeling.”

Kerr has also been selected in the PFA Women’s Super League (WSL) Team of the Year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: