Salah, Kane and Kevin de Bruyne headline 2022 PFA Men’s Player of the Year Awards

The Professional Footballers Association (PFA) have released its nominees for the annual Players’ Player of the Year Award, following the conclusion of the 2021/2022 league season.

Leading the nominations for the PFA Men’s Players’ Player of the Year Award are Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspurs), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City) and Liverpool trio of Mo Salah, Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

Harry Kane enjoyed a resurgence in form, after the appointment of manager Antonio Conte and his goals helped in securing UEFA Champions League football for next season. Cristiano Ronaldo scored 18 times in an underwhelming campaign for Manchester United in which he and goalkeeper David de Gea were the shining spots.

Kevin de Bruyne was instrumental as Manchester City claimed the 2021/2022 Premier League title, while Sadio Mane, Virgil van Dijk and Mo Salah all helped Liverpool win the EFL Cup and the FA Cup, while finishing runner-up in the league and emerging finalists in the UEFA Champions League, only losing narrowly to Real Madrid.

Meanwhile, Chelsea right-back Reece James is up for the Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year prize following another fantastic season in Chelsea blue. The 22 year-old scored five goals and registered nine assists in just 26 Premier League appearances.

Another Chelsea player Gallagher enjoyed a fantastic year on loan at Crystal Palace and he joins James on the six-man shortlist for the Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Gallagher played 34 league games for the Eagles, scored eight goals and picked up a further three assists. His energy, drive and eye for goal proved vital to Patrick Vieira in his first season in charge of Palace, and the south London club’s fans recognised Gallagher’s contribution by voting him their Player of the Year.

The other nominees for the Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year awards are: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jacob Ramsey (Aston Villa) and Arsenal duo of Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith-Rowe.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: