Mohamed Salah scoops Football Writers Player of the Year Award

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has been voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year, following his impressive displays in the ongoing 2021/2022 season.

The 29 year-old Egyptian international claimed the gong after receiving 48 per cent of the votes, ahead of Belgium and Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne and West Ham United midfielder Declan Rice.

Salah has been instrumental for Liverpool as the Merseysiders aim to land an historic quadruple – scoring 22 times in the Premier League and 30 goals in all competitions for the Reds this season.

This is the second time that Salah will be claiming the Football Writers of the Year Award, which has been presented since 1948. He was also named the Football Writers Player of the Year in 2018.

Liverpool and Manchester City players dominated the votes, with nine of Klopp’s squad receiving individual nominations and a total of six City players recognised.

The Women’s Footballer of the Year Award votes were open to the full FWA membership for the first time, with the award, which was introduced from 2018, having previously been decided by an expert panel.

Australian striker Sam Kerr, who has netted 18 times in the Women’s Super League to help Chelsea to the top the table, claimed 40 per cent of the votes to win the Women’s Award, with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema in second place, while Lauren Hemp of Manchester City placed third.

Both Mo Salah and Sam Kerr will receive their awards at the Footballer of the Year dinner in London on May 5th, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: